Pike County ILTidbits Project


Register | Forgot Password
Pike County's Changing Boundaries ...
Data, images, etc., found on the PikeCoILGenWeb.org website is for the use of individual researchers only. It is NOT for other groups to copy and place on their website.

Previous Article | Next Article

Pike County's Changing Boundaries ...
Contributed by Pike County ILGenWeb
Print | Save | Discuss (0) | E-Mail | Report

Newspaper Date:



32 Counties and Parts of Six Others Carved From Original Pike

Pike county, as originally erected on Jan. 31, 1821, was a vast domain, comprising approximately one third of the state and a third of the present counties in Illinois. The county in its original vastness is shown in the accompanying map (No. 13) showing county boundaries in 1821.

From the original Pike county 32 counties and six parts of counties have since been erected. The following present counties were originally in Pike: Jo Daviess, Stephenson, Winnebago, Boone, McHenry, Lake, Cook, DuPage, Kendall, Kane, DeKalb, Ogle, Carroll, Whiteside, Lee, Bureau, Henry, Rock Island, Mercer, Henderson, Warren, Knox, Stark, Peoria, Fulton, McDonough, Hancock, Schuyler, Adams, Brown, Pike and Calhoun. The following counties lay partly in the original domain of Pike: Will, Kankakee, Grundy, LaSalle, Putnam and Marshall.

The county lay in its original vastness until Jan. 28, 1823, when Fulton county was erected out of its territory and to the new county of Fulton was attached the present northern counties, including the site of present Chicago.

After Jan. 28, 1823, Pike county and its attached territory comprised the following present counties and parts of counties: Calhoun, Pike, Adams, Brown, Schuyler (excepting the lower tip on the Illinois river), Hancock, McDonough, Henderson, Warren, Mercer, part of Rock Island (including the site of the present City of Rock Island) and a corner of Jo Daviess county bordering the Wisconsin line. The Pike county of this period is shown in the accompanying county map of 1823. This was the county as it stood when Atlas became the new county seat in 1823. Coles’ Grove had been the county seat of the original county. Pike county proper in 1823 included present Pike and Calhoun, the lower part of Adams (including present Quincy) and the lower part of Brown (including present Mt. Sterling). The territory to the north including present Rock Island and a corner of Jo Daviess at the northern extremity, was attached to Pike for judicial and political purposes.

The map of 1825 shows Pike county reduced to its present boundaries. Calhoun county was cut off on Jan. 10, 1825, Adams on Jan. 13, Schuyler (which first included the present counties of Schuyler and Brown) on Jan. 13, from which dates the Pike county of the present.

NOTE: Maps shown on this page are from the booklet “Counties of Illinois -- Their Origin and Evolution,” compiled by Secretary of State Edward J. Hughes in 1934, and are reproduced by courtesy of State Printer Harold Cruger.

Previous Article | Next Article

Quick Reply
Your Name:
Your Comment:

You may use BB Codes in your message.
Anti-Spam Image:
Type the letters and numbers shown on the left into the box on the right (this is to prevent automated submissions).
security image

Members currently reading this thread:

Submitted: 01/26/08 (Edited 01/26/08)

Views: 88 views. Averaging 0 per day.
In the most recent 30 day period, there've been 0 views.

Previous Article | Next Article